Last updated 27 August 2026 · Competitor pricing read 27 August 2026
Intercom alternative, 2026: flat pricing and AI limits you can read
Intercom charges per seat and then charges again per AI resolution. Oneop charges one flat price per workspace with seats included, and publishes the exact ceilings its AI agents run inside. Every number on this page is sourced — Oneop's to the code that ships, Intercom's to their own pricing page, read on a stated date.
Free forever · 2 seats · No credit card
Why teams shop for an Intercom alternative
The usual reason is that the bill has two moving parts and both of them move upward. Intercom's list prices, re-read on 27 August 2026, are $29 per seat per month on Essential, $85 on Advanced and $132 on Expert, and the Fin AI Agent is charged separately “from $0.99 per Fin outcome” on top of the seat price. Copilot, the agent-facing assistant, is a further per-agent-per-month add-on. Email campaigns, SMS, WhatsApp and phone are all listed as pay-as-you-go on top again. A monthly/annual toggle sits above the prices, so check which term you are reading before you compare the number with ours.
That is a defensible model — you pay when the AI does the work — but it makes next month's number a forecast rather than a fact. Teams that need a fixed number, or that are adding seats faster than they are adding budget, start looking around at exactly that point.
The second reason is about what is being metered, and it is why this page exists. A Fin outcome is a unit that only makes sense in a support product: a customer asked, the AI answered, the conversation ended. It is a clean unit and Intercom charges for it honestly. But most of the AI work in an operations business has no resolution to count — reading a supplier invoice, categorising an expense, drafting a follow-up on a stalled deal, triaging a ticket to the right queue. Oneop meters that work as credits inside the plan and sells no overage, so the AI line on the invoice is the same number every month whether the AI worked hard or barely ran. Which model is better depends on your mix: if support deflection is nearly all of your AI usage, paying per resolution is a fair trade. If it is a fraction of it, you are choosing between a variable bill and a fixed one. What each system will let an AIdo on your data is a separate question, answered inAI Governance.
Oneop and Intercom at a glance
| Kind of claim | Oneop | Intercom | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | C | Flat per workspace, seats included | Per seat, plus per-AI-outcome |
| Entry paid price | C | $19/month total, 3 seats included | $29 per seat per month (Essential) |
| AI charged how | C | Monthly credit allowance in the plan; no overage sold | From $0.99 per Fin outcome, on top of seats |
| Customer channels | C | Web chat and email | Live chat, email, in-app; SMS, WhatsApp and phone as pay-as-you-go |
| AI run limits published | O | Yes — 6 steps, 6,000 tokens, 45 seconds, 3 actions | Not published |
| Free plan | C | Yes — 2 seats, no credit card | 14-day free trial, no credit card |
| Business systems included | C | CRM, tickets, tasks, inventory, double-entry finance | Support platform; CRM and finance via integrations |
C Competitor fact — read from a first-party page on the date stated belowO Oneop product fact — derived from this repositoryIntercom cells are read from intercom.com and intercom.com/pricing, last checked 27 August 2026. A row is marked as a Intercom fact when it rests on something that page states, and as a Oneop fact when the Intercom half records only what the page does not state — which is a silence in the source, not proof the capability is unavailable. Intercom prints a monthly/annual toggle above its prices and two reads returned different term labels for $29, so no billing term is asserted here. Oneop cells are read from this product.
The full comparison, row by row
Every Oneop cell below traces to a file in the product's source. Every Intercom cell traces to a page on intercom.com, on the date stated beneath the table. Where Intercom does not publish something, the cell says "not published" rather than "no" — those are different claims and only one of them is verifiable.
| Kind of claim | Oneop | Intercom | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Web chat widget | C | Yes — one script tag, text conversations | Yes — Messenger, included on all plans |
| Email as a support channel | C | Yes — support email in and out, threaded | Yes — support email included on all plans |
| Shared inbox and ticketing | C | Yes | Yes |
| AI agent that answers customers | C | Yes — chatbot flows with knowledge-base grounding | Yes — Fin AI Agent |
| AI agent that takes actions | C | Yes — 18 governed action types | Yes — "Takes action on external systems" |
| Published per-run ceilings | O | Yes — 6 reasoning steps (hard cap 12), 6,000-token budget, 45-second wall clock, 3 actions; then the run escalates | Not published |
| Autonomy levels | O | Yes — notify only, queue for approval, or act | Not published |
| Simulated vs live run labelling | O | Yes — a simulated run makes no model call, spends no credits, and is badged in the UI | Not published |
| Prompt-injection blocking | O | On every AI call, every plan, no toggle | Not published |
| PII redaction on AI prompts | O | Always on, including the free plan | Not published |
| AI spend control | C | No overage line — the bill does not move with AI usage | Charged per outcome; spend scales with volume |
| Model provider | C | Google Gemini only, stated plainly | Proprietary models named on their site |
| Business-hours SLA clocks | C | Yes — deadlines computed in working minutes, per-tenant calendar and holidays | Service level agreements on Expert |
| Knowledge base | C | Yes — grounds AI answers across chatbot, replies and copilot; public help centre, no account | Yes — Help Center and Knowledge Hub |
| CRM in the same product | C | Yes — contacts, companies, deals, pipelines, quotes | Separate from the support product |
| Double-entry accounting | O | Yes — real general ledger (opt-in module) | Not named as a product on intercom.com |
| Inventory and warehouse | O | Yes — reservations, bins, lots, 9 carrier integrations | Not named as a product on intercom.com |
| SAML 2.0 SSO | C | Yes | SSO and identity management on Expert |
| SCIM 2.0 provisioning | O | Yes | Not published on the pricing page |
| Tenant isolation at the data layer | O | Yes — 275 of 329 tables carry a tenant ID, scoped on every query | Not published |
| Credential encryption | O | AES-256-GCM per workspace; keys never returned by the API | Not published |
C Competitor fact — read from a first-party page on the date stated belowO Oneop product fact — derived from this repositoryIntercom cells are read from intercom.com and intercom.com/pricing, last checked 27 August 2026. A row is marked as a Intercom fact when it rests on something that page states, and as a Oneop fact when the Intercom half records only what the page does not state — which is a silence in the source, not proof the capability is unavailable. Intercom prints a monthly/annual toggle above its prices and two reads returned different term labels for $29, so no billing term is asserted here. Oneop cells are read from this product.
What each one actually costs at 3, 10 and 25 seats
Oneop's price does not move when you add a person, until the plan's included seats run out. Intercom's does, on every seat, every month — and the AI is billed on top of that.
Intercom list prices are the per-seat figures shown on intercom.com/pricing, re-read on 27 August 2026: $29 on Essential, $85 on Advanced, $132 on Expert. The page carries a monthly/annual toggle, so read your own number against the term you intend to sign. On 8 August it also displayed a $19 new-customer promotion on Essential; that promotion was no longer shown on re-read, and it was excluded from these figures either way, because a time-limited rate does not describe the ongoing cost. Fin outcomes and the Copilot add-on are also excluded from the Intercom column, which means the real Intercom number is higher than shown, not lower.
Beyond a plan's included seats, Oneop charges $5 per extra seat per month. Annual billing is two months free. The free plan is $0 for two seats with no credit card, and it is not a trial — it does not expire.
Both products meter AI, and both should be read carefully. Oneop's plans include 50 AI credits a month on Free, 1,000 on Starter, 5,000 on Pro and 15,000 on Business. A credit is not a message: a chatbot reply costs 1 credit, an AI-drafted email 2, a document scan 3, an agent action 5. Unlike a per-outcome charge, none of it reaches the invoice: Oneop sells no top-up, so there is no overage line to read. What happens at the ceiling is described on AI governance.
See the full comparison on pricing.
| Kind of claim | Oneop | Intercom Essential | Intercom Advanced | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 people | → | $19/month — Starter (3 seats included) | $87/month | $255/month |
| 10 people | → | $54/month — Starter + 7 extra seats at $5 | $290/month | $850/month |
| 25 people | → | $129/month — Business (25 seats included) | $725/month | $2,125/month |
→ Inference — a conclusion drawn from the two facts, not a published figureOneop line derived from the plan catalogue in this product. Intercom Essential seat rate read from intercom.com/pricing, checked 27 August 2026. Fin outcome charges and the Copilot add-on are excluded, so the Intercom figure is a floor, not a total.
Your team, either way
Move the slider to your headcount. Oneop's line steps only when a plan's included seats run out. A per-seat line climbs with every person, before any AI is billed on top.
10people
Past Starter's 3 included seats, each further person is $5 a month.
Starter, $19 + 7 extra seats at $5 each$54
ten months for twelve, per month$50.83
$29 per user, per month$290
Intercom figure: Essential at $29 per seat per month, read from intercom.com/pricing and re-read on 27 August 2026. Fin outcome charges and the Copilot add-on are excluded, so the real Intercom cost is higher than shown, not lower.
What Oneop publishes that Intercom doesn't
Published per-run ceilings: 6 reasoning steps (hard cap 12), a 6,000-token budget, 45-second wall clock and 3 actions — Intercom does not publish equivalent numbers for Fin.
Autonomy is a setting you choose per agent — notify only, queue for approval, or act — not a fixed behaviour.
Every AI run is stored and badged Simulated or Live, so a rehearsal is never mistaken for a real one.
If you decide to move
Migration runs through a CSV import wizard covering 22 record types across CRM, support, finance and inventory, with a validation report showing valid, invalid and duplicate rows before anything is written, and a full rollback for the first thirty minutes after an import. Export your Intercom contacts and conversations, map the columns, run the validation, and keep both products live while you compare.
Run the two in parallel on the free plan and decide from your own data rather than from anyone's case study.
FAQ
Common questions about the Intercom comparison
How much does Intercom cost per month?
Re-read on 27 August 2026, intercom.com/pricing lists Essential at $29 per seat per month, Advanced at $85 and Expert at $132. The page carries a monthly/annual toggle, so confirm which term a figure belongs to before comparing it with anything. The Fin AI Agent is charged separately from $0.99 per resolved outcome, and Copilot is a further per-agent-per-month add-on. Email campaigns, SMS, WhatsApp and phone are pay-as-you-go on top. Check their page before you buy — prices change.
What is a "Fin outcome" and how is it billed?
Intercom describes it as a charge that applies when a customer confirms resolution, does not ask for further help, or when Fin completes a workflow, and states you are charged once per conversation even if several questions are answered. That is a usage-based model: your AI bill scales with your support volume. Oneop's model is the opposite — a fixed monthly credit allowance with a hard stop at the cap.
Is there a free version of Intercom?
Intercom's pricing page offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card, including Fin and add-ons. It is a trial, not a free tier. Oneop's free plan does not expire: two seats, 50 AI credits a month, and the chatbot, live chat, tickets and knowledge base included.
What does Oneop mean by "published run limits"?
Every AI Workforce run stops at 6 reasoning steps, a 6,000-token budget, 45 seconds of wall clock and 3 actions. Hitting any ceiling ends the run with a status of escalated and a full reasoning trace — it does not improvise a conclusion to fill the gap. Those numbers are constants in the product's source, not a marketing target.
Can Oneop's AI act on my systems without asking?
Only if you set it to. Each agent runs at one of three autonomy levels: notify only, which logs the proposed action and does nothing; approve, which files a real approval for a human; or act, which dispatches it. Actions touching money or stock stay blocked at every level unless a separate environment flag is turned on, so an AI agent cannot post a bill or issue a purchase order by default.
Which AI model does Oneop use?
Google Gemini, named plainly, reached through a single metered router that reserves credits against your workspace before the call. One provider on one metered path is what makes AI spend attributable per workspace instead of pooled.
Other comparisons
- Zendesk alternative — the same governance argument against a per-agent helpdesk with voice.
- HubSpot alternative — if the evaluation is really about the CRM.
See all comparisons on the compare hub, learn more about the AI chatbot and the help desk, or read why Oneop.
Judge it on your own tickets
Two seats, 50 AI credits a month, and no expiry
Load a week of real conversations and watch what the AI does — and where it stops.
Free forever · 2 seats · No credit card